Moore and Fyffe attack Manx International queen stage

From Sticky Bottle:

Ireland’s Moore, Fyffe, Healy attack Manx International queen stage

Posted on: August 5th, 2019

Darnell Moore beats the British pro riders in the sprint for 4th place on the final stage of the Manx International stage race on the Isle of Man yesterday (Photo: Cycling Ulster)

Darnell Moore showed his worth at the Manx International yesterday, proving one of the very strongest in the race in the queen stage.

The final stage of four in the new stage race was run over the old Manx International one-day course; three mountain laps for a total race distance of 113 miles.

Moore has been the man for the big occasion many times in recent seasons; winning the elite cyclocross title, the Irish hill climb title, the U23 road race title and silver in the elite road race against the pros.

And yesterday Moore and Angus Fyffe showed their bravery and ability in attacking the race from the front despite the severity of the stage.

Ben Healy, the young Irish rider competing in his first year at U23 level, also proved up to the task and featured on the early climbs in the first breakaway of the day.

Healy and Fyffe managed to get into that first escape group. Numbering eight riders, it worked very well to pull out a gap of about three minutes on the peloton.

Healy took third on the first and third, of six, categorised climbs. However, with Matt Holmes of Madison Genesis leading the race by just one second, the general classification was ultra competitive.

It meant the breakaway was hunted down and when the leading riders were mopped up in the latter stages of the second lap, there were still plenty of cards to play.

As Fyffe and Healy were caught the race fractured and two groups pulled clear, this time one of those featured Darnell Moore of the Cycling Ulster selection.

Race leader Holmes made it into the front group with Daniel Pearson (Canyon dhb p/b Bloor Homes), Paul Wright (Zappi Racing Team) and Edward Laverack (SwiftCarbon Pro Cycling).

Pearson, a former Aqua Blue Sport rider, dropped back and joined a chase group numbering eight that featured Darnell Moore.

Up front Holmes proved too strong for the others; attacking with about 3km to go and winning the stage, and general classification, with a lone victory on the day.

Holmes was 23 seconds up on Laverack and Wright at the end of 4½ hours of racing. Then came the chase group another 32 seconds back, with Moore winning the sprint from it for 4th place.

Christopher McGlinchey (Vitus Pro Cycling) was at the head of the next chasing group, taking 13th at 1:47.

Lindsay Watson, Donal Shearer and David Montgomery – all riding for Cycling Ulster – filled places 21st, 22nd and 23rd within seconds of each other between 2½ and three minutes down.

Healy was 34th and Fyffe was non finisher after their earlier breakaway heroics on the final stage.

The result of the last stage left Moore best placed Irish finisher overall; in 12th at 2:35. McGlinchey was 13th, some 3:00 behind winner Holmes.

How the first three stages unfold

On the opening stage last Friday, Ed Clancy took the criterium win for Vitus Pro Cycling after sprinting in from a large group.

Some 24 riders finished on the same time as Clancy before small splits appeared in the bunch behind.

The only Irish rider in the field in that first group was the stage winner’s team mate Chris McGlinchey who claimed 19th place.

Lindsay Watson of Cycling Ulster was unlucky to be just on the wrong side of a seven-second gap in the field; taking 30th place.

On the same time as him was his Cycling Ulster team mate David Montgomery in 37th. Darnell Moore (Cycling Ulster) was in 53rd, part of a group 13 seconds down in winner Clancy.

Angus Fyffe (Cycling Ulster) was 51st at 19 seconds with Ben Healy (Le Col Wiggins) in 72nd at 3:26 and Donal Shearer (Cycling Ulster) 77th at 9:06.

The final rider in the Ulster line-up, Gareth O’Neill, was a non-finisher.

The Saturday morning hill climb stage was won by Matt Holmes of Madison Genesis in a time of 13:21, taking the leader’s jersey.

First-year U23 Ben Healy was best of the Irish; in 9th place at 44 seconds. Then came: McGlinchey in 18th at 1:03, Lindsay Watson in 26th at 1:14, Darnell Moore in 32nd at 1:17, David Montgomery in 36th at 1:24, Donal Shearer 40th at 1:32, Angus Fyffe in 77th at 5:14.

The third stage, a kermesse on Saturday evening, came down to a bunch sprint won by Ed Clancy again, with all the Irish riders in the bunch.

Montgomery was best on that Saturday night stage, taking 13th place in the same time as winner Clancy.